Saturday, September 8, 2012

John Jakes Novels Are Now Available as eBooks

I received the following a while back and have been remiss for not passing it along for those interested Civil War fiction. You can see John Jakes eBooks on Amazon by starting here wit North and South: The North and South Trilogy (Book One) . Thanks to Open Road Media for supplying the press release.

NEWS FROM OPEN ROAD: July 10, 2012

John Jakes's North and South Trilogy, Kent Family Chronicles, and Three Other Titles Now Available as Ebooks from Open Road Integrated Media

"The godfather of historical novelists." —The Los Angeles Times

Today marks Open Road Integrated Media’s ebook publication of fourteen titles by celebrated author John Jakes, including his well-loved sagas—the North and South Trilogy and the Kent Family Chronicles.

Jakes's acclaimed North and South Trilogy is a sweeping saga about a friendship threatened by the divisions of the Civil War. North and South begins in the years leading up to the Civil War: Orry Main from South Carolina and George Hazard from Pennsylvania forge a lasting bond while training at the United States Military Academy at West Point. Together they fight in the Mexican-American War, but their closeness is tested as their regional politics diverge. As the first rounds are fired at Fort Sumter, Orry and George find themselves on different sides of the coming struggle. In Love and War, the Main and Hazard families clash on and off the Civil War’s battlefields as they grapple with the violent realities of a divided nation. Finally, Heaven and Hell brings the battle between the Mains and Hazards—and Confederate and Union armies—to a brilliantly satisfying end. In the series’ epic conclusion, Jakes expertly blends personal conflict with historical events,crafting a haunting page-turner about America’s constant change and unyielding hope.

The eight-volume Kent Family Chronicles begins with The Bastard, as one man’s quest for his destiny leads him to the New World and into the heart of the American Revolution. Phillipe Charboneau is the illegitimate son and unrecognized heir of the Duke of Kentland. Upon the Duke’s death, Phillipe is denied his birthright and left to build a life of his own. Seeking all that the New World promises, he leaves London for America, shedding his past and preparing for the future by changing his name to Philip Kent. He arrives at the brink of the American Revolution, which tests his allegiances in ways he never imagined. The first volume of John Jakes’s wildly successful and highly addictive Kent Family Chronicles, The Bastard is a triumph of historical fiction. In The Rebels, the rousing Kent family saga continues as Philip Kent fights for his new country alongside the greatest figures of the Revolutionary War. The Seekers is set against the backdrop of the harsh and unforgiving American frontier, as Abraham Kent seeks to build a life and identity of his own. Opening twenty-two years after the events of The Seekers, John Jakes’s fourth Kent Family novel—The Furiesspans the blood-soaked era of America’s relentless expansion into the West, and its first heroine takes center stage in the relentless struggle to build the family dynasty. In The Titans, the members of the Kent family’s most dynamic generation face internal clashes as the Civil War ignites. Book six, The Warriors, blends the Kents’ ruthless push for an empire with murderous betrayal and the Civil War’s life-altering culmination. In a flourishing post–Civil War America, the Kent family seizes good fortune again in The Lawless—until all is suddenly threatened by one woman’s return. Finally, in The Americansthe definitive volume in Jakes’s bestselling series—we find the Kent family reaching to finally embrace its legacy and its future.

In addition to the two series, Open Road Media is also releasing ebook editions of Jakes's other historical fiction, including The Bold Frontier, California Gold, and Homeland. On July 31, three works of Sword & Sorcery by John Jakes will join his Open Road Media ebook collection.

Extra content includes:

Behind-the-scenes author commentary and video at

An illustrated biography in each ebook, including never-before-seen photographs and documents from Jake's personal life and distinguished career

Available July 10, 2012, from, Apple iBookstore,, Google eBookstore/IndieBound, Kobo Books, Sony Reader Store, and OverDrive.

No comments:

Post a Comment